OpenAI gives you the choice to turn off your chat history while using its ChatGPT bot. OpenAI, as explained in an article, says that it will not save previous conversations if you disable this setting, and it won’t use them to train its AI models.
It will store all new ChatGPT conversation for 30 days in order to “monitor abuse”, but then delete them permanently. notes, however, that these settings will not apply to existing conversations with chat history enabled. OpenAI can still use those conversations for model training. When you disable chat history, your conversations will not be saved to your account.
Click strong>Settings/strong> strong>> Show/strong> and toggle off the ‘Chat History & Training/strong> setting to turn off conversation history. Click Settings > Show. To turn off the conversation history, toggle off Training. Select the Export Data to download a file with all of your data collected by ChatGPT.
You’ll notice, once you disable your chat history that no new conversations are saved to the history bar at the left of the screen. The option can be quickly turned back on by clicking the green Enable chat history icon that appears in the left column.
OpenAI also offers a way for users of the new ChatGPT business plan to opt out of using chat histories as training data, but still preserve their history. The subscription is intended for companies who use ChatGPT but do not share their conversations with OpenAI. It is expected to be available in the “coming months”.